RTD Board of Directors elects new Executive Committee officers

The RTD Board of Directors will be led this year by Vince Buzek, the group decided on Jan. 4 with its election of new officers to the Executive Committee.  

RTD is governed by a 15-member, publicly elected Board. Each director is elected to a four-year term and represents a specific district within the agency’s service area. Board members elect officers each year to serve on the Executive Committee.  

Buzek was elected to the RTD Board in 2018 and previously served as secretary. He represents District J, which serves the cities of Westminster, Northglenn and Federal Heights; portions of western Thornton; and portions of unincorporated Adams and Jefferson Counties. 

In being selected for the Board’s top leadership position, Buzek succeeds Angie Rivera-Malpiede, who served as chair for the past two years. The area she represents, District C, is centrally located in the northwest portion of the city and county of Denver and covers all of Edgewater, portions of northwest Denver, and the areas of Wheat Ridge south of 38th Avenue and east of Wadsworth Boulevard. 

The other Board officers selected for 2022 are: 

First Vice Chair, Lynn Guissinger 
Director Guissinger was elected to the RTD Board in 2018. She represents District O, which serves Boulder, Jamestown, Louisville, Lyons, Nederland and Ward; the portion of Longmont west of North 95th Street and south of Mountain View Avenue; all of Superior within Boulder County; and the majority of unincorporated Boulder County, generally lying west of North 95th Street. 

Second Vice Chair, Peggy Catlin  
Director Catlin was sworn in to the RTD Board on March 27, 2018. She represents District N and was selected by the Jefferson County Board of County Commissioners to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Tina Francone. District N is entirely in Jefferson County and serves unincorporated Jefferson County as well as the communities of Evergreen, Conifer, Morrison, Willow Springs and Ken-Caryl Ranch. 

Treasurer, Troy L. Whitmore 
Director Whitmore was elected to the RTD Board in 2018. He represents District K, which serves Brighton and Commerce City; much of Thornton; and unincorporated Adams County.  

Secretary, Marjorie Sloan 
Director Sloan was elected to the RTD Board in 2020. She represents District M, which serves all of Golden, Lakeside and Mountain View; the majority of Lakewood and Wheat Ridge; and portions of unincorporated Jefferson County. 

More information about each member of the RTD Board of Directors – including district boundaries, contact details and biography – is available on the Board of Directors page. That page also includes an interactive district map, agendas for upcoming meetings, and materials from past meetings and study sessions.