Our Mission

Meet our constituents’ present and future public transit needs by providing safe, clean, reliable, courteous, accessible, and cost-effective service throughout the District.

As a public agency, we are dedicated to serve the public and to meet the public needs for a transit agency. We connect you with your community - safely, on time and in clean and accessible vehicles.

We want you to be satisfied with every trip you take on RTD. We listen to your suggestions and address your concerns because your voice is important to us. We work to continuously improve our service based on your feedback and latest transit trends and technologies. We are committed to providing you the best customer service at an affordable price.

Welcome to Your Transit System

The Regional Transportation District provides public transportation in eight counties including all of Boulder, Broomfield, Denver and Jefferson counties, parts of Adams, Arapahoe and Douglas Counties, and a small portion of Weld County. As a public agency, we are dedicated to serving the public and providing for the transportation needs of over 3.08 million people located within 2,342 square miles. Our services include bus, rail, shuttles, ADA paratransit services, demand responsive services like FlexRide, special event services, vanpools, and many more.

We are an organization made up of dedicated and qualified people doing extraordinary things to make the metro area the best in the West. We take great pride in the delivery of a wide array of services and we’re proud to be part of the productivity, progress, and passion of 40 municipalities. Our wheels will never stop rolling as we transform the region through transportation.

Watch the video below to learn what RTD is all about.

Our Leadership

Chief Financial Officer and Assistant General Manager, Finance & Administration


Heather McKillop, Chief Financial Officer and Assistant General Manager, Finance & Administration, will be leading RTD until an interim General Manager and Chief Executive Officer is named.

RTD's Board of Directors is in the process of selecting an interim General Manager and CEO. The Board will meet in executive session to proceed with its decision-making process on January 28. Details on the five finalists are available on the News Stop.

RTD Board of Directors


RTD is governed by a 15-member, publicly elected Board of Directors. Each member represents the voters, residents, and transit riders of a specific area within the eight-county RTD service area. Board members actively support and advocate for constituents’ concerns, while providing governance and establishing policies for the agency.

Meet your RTD Board members

Our Story



The Regional Transportation District was created in 1969 by the 47th session of the Colorado General Assembly. Efforts in these early years focused on regional transportation planning.

In 1973 voters approved a 0.5% sales tax initiative to finance a $1.56 billion multi-modal transit system. At this time, RTD acquired privately owned bus companies, improved service frequencies, and expanded routes in numerous counties throughout the metro area. By 1976, ridership grew to 35.2 million rides annually.



RTD celebrated its first light rail opening October 7, 1994. The 5.3-mile D Line attracted hundreds of thousands of riders when it began operations with just eleven light rail vehicles. April 22, 2016 marked another monumental milestone in Denver transit history with the opening of the metro area's first high-speed commuter rail line - the University of Colorado A Line. Ten rail lines service 53 stations along the Denver's North, East, Southeast, Southwest, and West rail corridors.




In November 2004, region voters approved FasTracks transit tax for region-wide expansion of transit service. The .04% sales tax (four cents on a $10 purchase) provides funds to build RTD’s FasTracks program - 122 miles of new commuter rail and light rail, 18 miles of bus rapid transit, and 21,000 new parking spaces at rail and bus stations. The program consists of six new rapid transit corridors and three existing corridor extensions and to expand and enhance service for easy, convenient bus/rail connections across the eight-county district.