RTD District A currently vacant as Williams steps down

Tina Jaquez

Denver mayor will appoint a replacement to fill the position

DENVER (Jan. 12, 2024) – The Regional Transportation District (RTD) today announced the resignation of Director Kate Williams from its Board of Directors due to serious health issues. Williams represented District A, which covers portions of the city and county of Denver including Glendale, Capitol Hill, Downtown Denver, Washington Park, Cherry Creek, Hilltop, Lowry and a small portion of Arapahoe County. The seat is up for election in November.

Williams was recognized at the Jan. 9 special Board meeting for her contributions in championing Zero Fare for Youth, a one-year pilot program that allows youth 19 and younger to ride RTD services at no cost. Denver City Council also issued a special proclamation honoring Williams for her commitment to transit and bettering the community. Williams was first elected to the Board in 2016 and re-elected in 2020.

RTD is governed by a 15-member, publicly elected Board of Directors, each of whom is elected to a four-year term and represents a specific district within the RTD service area.

Denver Mayor Mike Johnston is aware of the vacancy and has the authority to appoint a replacement that will fill the position until January 2025 when a new director is sworn in as a result of the November election. The mayor’s appointment is subject to the approval of Denver City Council.

At the Jan. 9 meeting, the RTD Board elected its executive officers, naming Erik Davidson, Board Chair; Peggy Catlin, First Vice Chair; Lynn Guissinger, Second Vice Chair; Julien Bouquet, Treasurer; and Michael Guzman, Secretary.

By Tina Jaquez

Director Kate Williams

Photo of Kate Williams