• Length (miles): 12.1
  • Vehicle Type: Light Rail
  • Stations: 15
  • Parking: 4,959 parking spaces
  • Frequency of Service:
    • Denver to Federal Center: 7.5 min (peak)/15 min (off-peak)
    • Federal Center to Jefferson County Government Center • Golden: 15 min (peak and off-peak)

At a Glance

  • The W Line, also referred to as the West Rail Line, is part of RTD’s 2004 voter-approved FasTracks plan to expand transit service across the Denver metro region.
  • The W Line is the first light rail line to open under the FasTracks program.
  • The 12.1-mile light rail transit system extends from Denver’s Union Station to Jefferson County Government Center, traversing through Denver, Lakewood, and Golden.
  • There are 11 stations along the line: six with parking (Decatur • Federal, Sheridan, Lakewood • Wadsworth, Oak, Federal Center, and Jefferson County Government Center • Golden); and six walkup/Kiss-n-Ride stations (Auraria West, Knox, Perry, Lamar, Garrison, and Red Rocks College).

Project Overview

  • Construction elements included: 20 at-grade crossings, 10 light rail bridges, three street bridge reconstructions, three pedestrian bridges, two light rail tunnels, one pedestrian tunnel, and 4.26 miles of bike paths.
  • W Line construction added more than $300 million to the local economy.
  • At the height of construction, employee numbers reached more than 600 people. More than 85 percent were hired locally.
  • W Line contractors directly conducted business with more than 600 businesses/vendors, of which 94 percent were local.
  • 2013: The W Line opened eight months ahead of schedule on April 26.
  • 2014: Art installations on the W Rail Line were finalized for eight separate commissions at Knox, Perry, Lamar, Oak, Federal Center, Red Rocks and Jefferson County Government Center • Golden stations. Thirty-four (34) relay houses along the W Line were wrapped with artists designs.



  • 2018 Total Ridership: 4,329,882


Updated March 2020