Civil Rights Division

Civil Rights Division

The Civil Rights Division ensures that RTD upholds the civil rights of the agency's employees and customers. Working across agency departments and with diverse community partners, together we proactively pursue fairness, inclusion and equal opportunities in employment and small business development while also striving to provide historically underrepresented communities with equal access to public transit services and programs. Additionally, the Civil Rights Division enforces federal, state and local laws prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability and other protected characteristics both for the agency’s employees and its customers. In sum, our mission is to support RTD in making lives better through connections by working towards diversity, equity, inclusion, equal opportunity and belonging.

The Civil Rights Division is comprised of four offices: the Americans with Disabilities Act Office, the Small Business Opportunity Office, the Equal Employment Opportunity Office and the Transit Equity Office.

Offices in the Civil Rights Division

Americans With Disabilities Act OfficeThe Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Office oversees RTD's compliance with Titles II and III of the ADA, which prohibits discrimination based on disability and requires RTD to make the agency’s public transportation system accessible to persons with disabilities.Small Business Opportunity OfficeThe Small Business Opportunity (SBO) Office aims to provide small and disadvantaged business enterprises (S/DBE) with equal access to RTD contracting opportunities. The SBO Office also manages the Small Business Enterprise (SBE) Certification Program.Transit Equity OfficeThe Transit Equity Office (TEO) oversees RTD’s compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act. TEO informs equitable decision-making agency-wide by performing data analyses and providing opportunities for meaningful community engagement with historically underrepresented populations. TEO also has a Title VI complaint procedure to guarantee that all customers can ride without experiencing discrimination or unfair treatment. Further, TEO manages RTD’s language access program, which aims to make the agency’s services and programs more accessible to linguistically diverse customers.Equal Employment Opportunity OfficeThe Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Office ensures that no employee or applicant is unlawfully excluded from opportunities based on their race, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, sex or gender, pregnancy, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, age, genetic information, disability, military service and marital status. The EEO Office does this by investigating workplace harassment and discrimination, implementing RTD’s EEO Program Plan, training employees on their rights and responsibilities and ensuring equity in the hiring process as well as the agency’s employment practices.

Need Language Assistance?


  • Language assistance services, including translation and interpretation, are available to RTD customers at no cost. For more information, please click here.


  • Los servicios de asistencia lingüística, que incluyen traducción e interpretación, están a disposición gratuitamente para los clientes de RTD. Para más información, haga clic aquí.


  • RTD 客户可免费获得语言协助服务,其中包括笔译和口译服务。欲了解更多信息,请点击此处 

Tiếng Việt

  • Các dịch vụ hỗ trợ ngôn ngữ (gồm biên dịch và phiên dịch) được cung cấp miễn phí cho các khách hàng của RTD. Để biết thêm thông tin, vui lòng nhấp vào đây.


Federal legislation, executive orders, state laws and other acts of authority form the backbone of the Civil Rights Division, including (but not limited to):

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990
The ADA prohibits discrimination against individuals with disabilities, guaranteeing equal employment opportunities as well as access to public information and facilities.

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964
Title VI prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color or national origin (including language) under any program or activity receiving federal financial assistance.

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964
Title VII protects employees and job applicants from discriminatory practices by prohibiting employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex and national origin.