Facts and Figures

The information on this web page is current as of January 31, 2023. The next update to the facts and figures will be made during the first quarter of 2024.

At a Glance

The Regional Transportation District was created in 1969 by the Colorado General Assembly to develop, operate, and maintain a mass transportation system for the benefit of 3.08 million people in RTD's service area. The 2,342 square miles district serves all or part of eight counties:

RTD is governed by a 15-member elected Board of Directors, with each district containing approximately 200,000 residents.

Access the latest Board updates here.

Service Overview

Specialized Bus Services

Active Bus Fleet


Light rail

Commuter Rail






Total Operating Budget

Budgeted number of RTD employees

Private Contractor Employees

More Facts and Figures

A LineThe A Line opened on April 22, 2016 and was RTD’s first commuter rail line.B LineThe first segment of the B Line to Westminster opened on July 25, 2016. Clean AirRTD remains an industry leader with the use of alternative fuels and pollution reduction technology.Commuter Rail VehicleRTD’s commuter rail vehicles are heavier and travel faster than light rail vehicles, but operate in a similar way, using overhead electric lines.Downtown Express I-25 HOV LanesThe Downtown Express consists of 6.6 miles of bus/high-occupancy vehicle (HOV) lanes running from downtown Denver to US 36.E, H LinesThe E and H lines opened November 17, 2006 as a part of the Southeast Rail Project. FasTracksFasTracks is RTD's voter-approved transit expansion program -- the largest in the nation -- that is transforming transportation through the Denver metro region.Flatiron FlyerThe Flatiron Flyer, or U.S. 36 bus rapid transit (BRT), is part of RTD’s 2004 voter-approved FasTracks plan to expand transit across the Denver metro region.Free MallRideRTD's Free MallRide connects you to the sights and sounds of downtown Denver. G LineThe G Line opened on April 26, 2019. The 11.2-mile electric commuter rail line connects Denver’s Union Station to northwest Denver, Adams County, and ArvadaL LineIn 2018, the Welton Street segment of the D Line was split off to operate as the L Line between the 18th•Stout Station and the 30th•Downing Station.N LineThe N Line is part of RTD’s 2004 voter-approved FasTracks plan to expand transit across the Denver metro region.R LineThe R Line opened on February 24, 2017 and delivers access to Aurora City Center, Rocky Mountain Regional VA Medical Center, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, Fitzsimons Life Sciences District, and Denver International Airport via a transfer to the A Line.Union StationDenver’s Union Station is part of RTD’s 2004 voter-approved FasTracks plan to expand transit service across the Denver metro region.W LineThe W Line opened a corridor to the western region on April 26, 2013. The line runs from Union Station to Jefferson County Government Center, with stops along the way in Denver, Lakewood, and Golden.